Saeima decides to extend participation of Latvian troops in NATO mission in Kosovo


On Thursday, 7 September, the Saeima decided to extend the participation of the Latvian National Armed Forces troops in the NATO international operation in Kosovo until 31 December 2025.

NATO’s international operation in Kosovo was launched in 1999 following a protracted inter-ethnic conflict and violence in the Balkans. Although the overall political, economic, ethnic and security situation in Kosovo has improved significantly compared to 1999, it remains volatile and fragile, especially in light of the serious political tensions with Serbia. As stated in the explanatory note to the draft resolution, this makes it difficult for Kosovo to integrate into the European Union and other international organisations.

In order to promote the internal and external security of the European Union, as well as its meaningful enlargement and integration, it is important to continue Latvia’s participation in the international operation, according to the explanatory note to the draft resolution.

NATO’s international operation in Kosovo currently hosts troops from 20 NATO member states and seven of its partner countries. Currently Latvian troops serve in a light infantry company within the United States-led multinational battalion.  The main tasks of the Latvian contingent include patrolling, defending friendly forces and maintaining their combat capabilities (self-training), and performing the tasks of the rapid response force.


Saeima Press Service

Trešdien, 4.oktobrī
08:30  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
09:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
09:00  Pieprasījumu komisijas sēde
09:00  Eiropas lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Ārlietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:15  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde
12:00  Saeimas Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas priekšsēdētāja Jāņa Reira tikšanās ar Vācijas Stabilitātes padomes Neatkarīgās konsultatīvās padomes priekšsēdētāju Thiess Büttner
12:00  Mandātu, ētikas un iesniegumu komisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
12:00  Nacionālās drošības komisijas sēde
12:00  Pilsonības, migrācijas un sabiedrības saliedētības komisijas sēde
12:00  Ilgtspējīgas attīstības komisijas sēde