Saeima grants Latvian citizenship to world famous artist Mikhail Baryshnikov


On Thursday, 27 April, the Saeima supported the draft decision on granting Latvian citizenship to the world famous artist Mikhail Baryshnikov for special merit in promoting Latvia.

The draft decision, signed by MPs representing all six parliamentary groups of the Saeima, was adopted unanimously.

Mikhail Baryshnikov, one of the most iconic ballet dancers of our time, was born in 1948 in Riga. Having begun his career as a dancer in Kirov Ballet, Leningrad, he emigrated to the USA to continue his professional growth in 1974. 

Mikhail Baryshnikov’s personal experience has led to active civic involvement and voicing of political beliefs in support of democratic values and human rights, said Inese Lībiņa-Egnere, Deputy Speaker of the Saeima, who initiated the granting of Latvian citizenship to the artist at the parliament. 

In his letter addressed to the Saeima Mikhail Baryshnikov expresses gratitude for the invitation to accept Latvian citizenship and points out that it is with true humility that he receives such a high honour from the Republic of Latvia, and that if accepted as a citizen, he will uphold that honour with conscientiousness and pride.  

The Saeima may decide to grant citizenship on the basis of special meritorious service for the benefit of Latvia. Prior to the plenary vote, the draft decision is reviewed by the Citizenship, Migration and Social Cohesion Committee of the Saeima. 


Saeima Press Service

Otrdien, 26.septembrī
08:30  Juridiskās komisijas Krimināltiesību politikas apakškomisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas un Nacionālās drošības komisijas kopsēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Nacionālās drošības komisijas un Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas kopsēde
11:40  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas Vides un klimata politikas apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Juridiskās komisijas Tiesu politikas apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
13:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Sabiedrības veselības apakškomisijas sēde
13:30  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas Korupcijas novēršanas apakškomisijas sēde
14:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Nodarbinātības apakškomisijas sēde
15:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde