In Paris, Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica presents the Riga Principles to ensure that Russia does not escape punishment


"Latvia will continue its relentless work during and after its Presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe to achieve full justice and hold Russia accountable for the crimes committed in Ukraine", said Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, Deputy Speaker of the Saeima and Head of the Latvian Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), at a meeting of the PACE Bureau in Paris on Thursday, 14 September.

Kalniņa-Lukaševica stressed that this week in Riga, the Register of Damage was launched and the Riga Principles were approved to ensure that Russia does not remain unpunished and that compensation is provided to all victims of the war. As the Deputy Speaker informed her colleagues, the principles are: victim-centred approach, strong legal basis, authority and legitimacy, support to the Ukrainian authorities, interoperability, civil society involvement, and working towards effective compensation.

Regarding the forthcoming PACE autumn session in October, a decision was made to include on the agenda a discussion with the Latvian Minister of Foreign Affairs on the achievements and current topics of the Latvian Presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe. The discussion will take place in Strasbourg on 11 October.

At the PACE Bureau meeting, MPs also decided that the election of the Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights would take place in January 2024, and the Council of Europe Secretary General would be elected during the PACE plenary session in June 2024. The MPs also approved the procedure for nominating and evaluating these officials.


Saeima Press Service

Trešdien, 4.oktobrī
08:30  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
09:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
09:00  Pieprasījumu komisijas sēde
09:00  Eiropas lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Ārlietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:15  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde
12:00  Saeimas Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas priekšsēdētāja Jāņa Reira tikšanās ar Vācijas Stabilitātes padomes Neatkarīgās konsultatīvās padomes priekšsēdētāju Thiess Büttner
12:00  Mandātu, ētikas un iesniegumu komisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
12:00  Nacionālās drošības komisijas sēde
12:00  Pilsonības, migrācijas un sabiedrības saliedētības komisijas sēde
12:00  Ilgtspējīgas attīstības komisijas sēde