Ināra Mūrniece: We are eager to maintain the dynamic relationship with India


In recent years, Latvia and India have been successfully developing bilateral relations: the political dialogue has become more active, the trade volume has increased, and successful cooperation has been established in education and culture. Speaker Ināra Mūrniece stressed this on Wednesday, 24 May, at the Saeima, during a meeting with Mobashar Jawed Akbar, Minister of State for External Affairs of the Republic of India.

“We would like to continue the high-level exchange of visits, thus supporting practical cooperation. Contacts between the MPs of the two countries are essential, and the Saeima boasts an active group for interparliamentary relations with India. We would be very honoured to welcome the Indian Speaker to Latvia”, attested Mūrniece.

The Speaker of the Saeima expressed satisfaction with the positive dynamics of the Latvian–Indian economic cooperation, adding that the potential is much greater, as shown by the large interest of entrepreneurs from the two countries in the Indian–Latvian business conference held in Riga within the framework of the Minister’s visit.

Promising cooperation areas are transport and logistics, given the strategic location of Latvia in the transport connection between Asia and Europe, said Speaker Mūrniece. The Minister also stressed Latvia's advantages in transit services and expressed particular interest in enhancing cooperation in the spheres of technology and agriculture.

The Speaker expressed satisfaction with the growing number of Indian students in Latvia. An important step will be the conclusion of the cooperation agreement in higher education, which will further encourage and enable young people from India to study in Latvia.


Video: = u0jAjdCXONw
Disclaimer & copyrights:




Saeima Press Service

Ceturtdien, 1.jūnijā
08:45  Saeimas 2023.gada 1.jūnija ārkārtas sēde
09:30  Saeimas 2023.gada 1.jūnija kārtējā sēde
12:30  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas Administratīvi teritoriālās reformas rezultātu izvērtēšanas apakškomisijas sēde
12:30  Pieprasījumu komisijas sēde
12:35  Saeimas priekšsēdētāja biedres Zandas Kalniņas-Lukaševicas tikšanās ar Polijas Republikas ārlietu ministra vietnieku, Valsts sekretāru Arkadiusz Mularczyk
17:00  2023.gada 1.jūnija atbilžu sniegšana uz deputātu jautājumiem