Head of Latvian delegation to the NATO PA: “Security is the main national priority”


„For Latvia, comprehensive security was, is and always will remain the main national priority,” said Mrs. Vaira Paegle, Head of the Latvian delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, on Tuesday, 1 June, in her address to the participants of the discussion on “NATO’s Future: The Baltic View”. 

In reflecting on the proceedings of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, Mrs. V.Paegle said, “Because NATO has added a broad security dimension to its military defence, committee reports ranged from alliance solidarity and the High North to the economic crisis in Central and Eastern Europe and maritime security.”

„While the general public is decidedly eurosceptic, support for our membership in NATO has never wavered. Therefore, we look to the new Strategic Concept for reassurance that collective defence guarantees and Alliance cohesion and solidarity vows are renewed not only in words but also in concrete deeds,” said Mrs. V.Paegle. 

„On matters of security, NATO must speak in one voice and on the basis of equality – if one NATO country does not feel secure, it threatens the security of all other member states,” emphasised the Head of the Latvian delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly. She added that „Only by taking our security seriously will we provide the added value necessary to make the NATO security umbrella impenetrable.”

Mrs. V.Paegle was gratified that participants of this discussion will address two significant issues, namely, the new NATO Strategic Concept and the situation in Afghanistan from the perspective of the Baltic States.

Press Service
of the Public Relations Department
of the Parliament of Latvia
Phone.: +371 67087218
Mobile phone.: +371 261 36160 
E-mail: prese@saeima.lv


Trešdien, 7.jūnijā
09:00  Saeimas Deputātu grupas sadarbības veicināšanai ar Vācijas parlamentu tikšanās ar Latvijas Republikas ārkārtējo un pilnvaroto vēstnieci Vācijas Federatīvajā Republikā V.E. Aldu Vanagu
09:00  Pieprasījumu komisijas sēde
09:00  Eiropas lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
10:15  Ārlietu komisijas sēde
10:15  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde
12:00  Mandātu, ētikas un iesniegumu komisijas sēde
12:00  Pieprasījumu komisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
12:00  Nacionālās drošības komisijas sēde
12:00  Pilsonības, migrācijas un sabiedrības saliedētības komisijas sēde
12:00  Ilgtspējīgas attīstības komisijas sēde