On 21 – 22 October session of the Baltic Assembly will be held in Riga


On 21 – 22 October, the 29th Session of the Baltic Assembly (BA) will be held in the Saeima of the Republic of Latvia. During the Session, parliamentarians will discuss joint health-care projects and challenges to public safety. Furthermore, as part of the Session the BA prizes for literature, the arts, and science, as well as the BA medals for contributions in strengthening the unity of the Baltic States, will be awarded.

The proceedings of the Session will take place in all buildings of the Saeima; on 22 October Mrs. Ērika Zommere, President of the Baltic Assembly, H.E. Mr. Gundars Daudze, Speaker of the Saeima, H.E. Mrs. Ene Ergma, President of the Estonian parliament, and H.E. Mrs. Irena Degutienė, Speaker of the Lithuanian parliament, will address the audience at the opening of the Session, which will be held in the Plenary Chamber.

Mrs. Ērika Zommere explains that „the priorities of the Baltic Assembly during 2010 included the stabilisation of economies, joint health-care projects, and public safety”. She emphasises that „these goals can be achieved by pooling resources and by implementing policies which are coordinated among all three Baltic States”.

„During this Session, parliamentarians, representatives of governments, and experts will pay particular attention to opportunities of all three Baltic States to develop joint health-care projects, including joint procurement of medicines and creation of specialised medical centres in the Baltic region, which would be too expensive for each country individually,” explains the BA President. 

The parliamentarians will also talk about challenges in the sphere of security and living standards which are faced by societies in the 21st century. This subject will be addressed by Mr. Roberts Ķīlis, Chairman of the Strategic Analysis Commission under the auspices of the President of the Republic of Latvia, and Marju Lauristin, professor at the University of Tartu. Mr. Edward Lucas, The Economist‘s editor who has specialised in Central and Eastern Europe, will also take part in the discussion.

It is a long-standing tradition to hold a ceremony of awarding the BA prizes to Baltic researchers, writers and artists as part of the Session. This year the BA Prize for Science will be awarded to Mr. Jānis Stradiņš. The BA Prize for Literature will be awarded to Estonian poetess and writer Ene Mihkelson, and Lithuanian artist and sculptor Antanas Žukauskas will receive the BA Prize in the Arts.

Next Friday the 16th Baltic Council will convene in the Saeima building. The BA President, as well as Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the Baltic States, will address the audience by touching upon issues such as strengthening political and economic cooperation.

The Baltic Assembly is an interparliamentary cooperation organisation of Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania established for coordinating the Baltic States' cooperation on the parliamentary level, discussing issues and projects of mutual interest and expressing a common position on political, economic, social and cultural issues on the EU and international level. The Baltic Assembly consists of national delegations – 12 to 20 members from each country’s parliament. 

Media Programme

Press Service
of the Public Relations Department
of the Parliament of Latvia
Phone.: +371 67087218
Mobile phone.: +371 261 36160 
E-mail: prese@saeima.lv


Otrdien, 30.maijā
08:30  Juridiskās komisijas Krimināltiesību un sodu politikas apakškomisijas sēde
09:00  Ārlietu komisijas sēde
09:00  Eiropas lietu komisijas sēde
09:30  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas Ēnu ekonomikas apkarošanas apakškomisijas sēde
10:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde (turpinājums)
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
12:00  Ilgtspējīgas attīstības komisijas Demogrāfijas, ģimeņu un bērnu lietu apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Juridiskās komisijas Satversmes un tiesu politikas apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
13:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas Mājokļa jautājumu apakškomisijas sēde
13:00  Ārlietu komisijas sēde
13:00  Saeimas deputātu grupas sadarbības veicināšanai ar Itālijas parlamentu tikšanās ar Itālijas Republikas ārkārtējo un pilnvaroto vēstnieku V.E. Alessandro Monti
13:30  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Sabiedrības veselības apakškomisijas sēde
13:40  Saeimas priekšsēdētāja biedra Jāņa Grasberga tikšanās ar Polijas Republikas Sejma Ārlietu komisijas priekšsēdētāju Radosław Fogiel
14:00  Ilgtspējīgas attīstības komisijas Inovācijas ekosistēmas attīstības apakškomisijas sēde
14:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas Augstākās izglītības, zinātnes un cilvēkkapitāla apakškomisijas un Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas Sporta apakškomisijas kopsēde
14:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas Sporta apakškomisijas un Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas Augstākās izglītības, zinātnes un cilvēkkapitāla apakškomisijas kopsēde
15:00  EDSO PA Latvijas delegācijas vadītāja Riharda Kola organizēta sanāksme ar līdzīgi domājošu valstu delegāciju vadītājiem
15:30  Saeimas deputātu grupas sadarbības veicināšanai ar Polijas parlamentu tikšanās ar Polijas Republikas Sejma Ārlietu komisijas priekšsēdētāju Radosław Fogiel