

# Presidium of the Saeima

The work of the Saeima is managed by its Presidium, which is elected from among the MPs at the beginning of the Saeima's term of office. The Presidium consists of five MPs. The Speaker of the 14th Saeima is Daiga Mieriņa, the Deputy Speakers are Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica and Antoņina Ņenaševa, the Secretary is Edvards Smiltēns, and the Deputy Secretary is Jānis Grasbergs.

The new convocation of the Saeima usually elects the Presidium at its first plenary sitting. Nominations for positions in the Presidium are submitted by MPs in writing, and voting on all nominees appointed for each position is held simultaneously in an open ballot procedure by using ballot papers. The nominee who receives the most votes is elected; however, the number of votes should not be less than the majority of votes of the MPs present.

The Presidium determines the internal regulations and the workflow of the Saeima, gives opinions on the documents submitted, forwards these documents for further consideration as prescribed by the Rules of Procedure, prepares the agendas of plenary sittings, and performs other organisational functions.

The members of the Presidium are supported by the staff of their offices.

Meetings of the Presidium are usually held once a week (on Mondays), and they are convened by the Speaker. During the Speaker's absence, meetings are convened by one of the Deputy Speakers.

Meetings of the Presidium are usually held in the Red Room of the main building of the Saeima, but the Presidium may convene at any place and time.

#### **Speaker**

The Speaker represents the Saeima, chairs and maintains order during plenary sittings, as well as ensures that the sittings are held in accordance with the Rules of Procedure. The Speaker also chairs the meetings of the Presidium, as well as sittings devoted to answering parliamentary questions, during which MPs hear answers to their questions submitted to the Prime Minister, line ministers, or the Governor of the Bank of Latvia about matters within the competence of these officials.

Plenary sittings are usually held once a week (on Thursdays) in the main building of the Saeima. Ceremonial sittings, during which the Speaker delivers a ceremonial address, are held twice a year: on 4 May in honour of the anniversary of the restoration of the independence of the Republic of Latvia, and on

Speaker Daiga Mieriņa

18 November in honour of the anniversary of the proclamation of the Republic of Latvia.

In cases specified in the Constitution, the Speaker temporarily assumes the duties of the President of Latvia, for example, when the latter is out of the country or has resigned.

The Speaker is ex officio a member of the National Security Council, which coordinates a unified national security policy implemented by the highest public officials and institutions.

An important duty of the Speaker is the development of diplomatic relations by meeting foreign dignitaries, ►



Presidium of the Saeima. From left: Deputy Secretary Jānis Grasbergs, Secretary Edvards Smiltēns, Speaker Daiga Mieriņa, Deputy Speaker Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, Deputy Speaker Antoņina Ņenaševa

delegations, and ambassadors, as well as by paying official and working visits to other countries.

In addition to these duties, the Speaker also serves as an MP and participates in the work of the committees and subcommittees of the Saeima.

## Insignia of the Speaker

The Speaker's standard—a white flag with a cross of the same colour proportions as the Latvian national flag and the large national coat of arms in the top right-hand white segment—is usually displayed in the Speaker's office and on their means of transport.

### **Deputy Speakers**

During the Speaker's absence, their duties are carried out by one of the Deputy Speakers upon mutual consent. The Speaker and Deputy Speakers also share routine responsibilities, such as chairing plenary sittings, Presidium meetings, and sittings devoted to answering parliamentary questions, as well as meeting with foreign public officials.

### Secretary and Deputy Secretary

The Secretary and the Deputy Secretary arrange for the recording of minutes during plenary sittings and, if necessary, read out documents during plenary sittings, check the transcripts, and supervise the work of the Saeima Administration upon mutual agreement on the division of these tasks. ■



## Speakers of the Latvian legislature

• Jānis Čakste, President of the People's Council and the Constitutional Assembly

- Frīdrihs Vesmanis, then Pauls Kalniņš (from 20 March 1925), Speakers of the 1<sup>st</sup> Saeima
- Pauls Kalniņš, Speaker of the 1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup>, 3<sup>rd</sup>, and 4<sup>th</sup> Saeima
- Jāzeps Rancāns, Acting Speaker of the Saeima in exile
- Anatolijs Gorbunovs, Chairman of the Supreme Council and Speaker of the 5<sup>th</sup> Saeima
- Ilga Kreituse, then Alfreds
  Čepānis (from 26 September 1996), Speakers of the 6<sup>th</sup> Saeima
- Jānis Straume, Speaker of the 7<sup>th</sup> Saeima
- Ingrīda Ūdre (now Ingrīda Latimira), Speaker of the 8<sup>th</sup> Saeima
- Indulis Emsis, then Gundars Daudze (from 24 September 2007), Speakers of the 9<sup>th</sup> Saeima
- Solvita Āboltiņa, Speaker of the 10<sup>th</sup> and 11<sup>th</sup> Saeima
- Ināra Mūrniece, Speaker of the 12<sup>th</sup> and 13<sup>th</sup> Saeima
- Edvards Smiltēns, then Daiga Mieriņa (from 20 September 2023), Speaker of the 14<sup>th</sup> Saeima