Speaker of the Saeima emphasises importance of US support for Baltic security


On Tuesday, 1 August, Ināra Mūrniece, Speaker of the Saeima, met with a US Congress delegation headed by Congressman Joe Wilson. Speaker Mūrniece stated: “The United States of America is our strategic partner, and its continued support for the Baltic region is paramount.”

The Speaker emphasised that Latvia highly values the strong and steadfast support for Latvia’s security and expressed her appreciation for the reiteration of the US commitment to NATO’s Article 5. Speaker Mūrniece stressed the importance of continued US military presence in the region.

The Speaker of the Saeima proceeded to say that it is equally important to resist the Kremlin’s information war, as it aims to undermine democratic values. “Latvia devotes special attention to cybersecurity, strategic communication, and media literacy,” Speaker Mūrniece stated. The Speaker of the Saeima and the US congressmen shared the opinion that media literacy and journalistic professionalism is of great consequence in the conditions of information warfare. 

The Speaker of the Saeima expressed her appreciation for the US political support to Latvia, attested by the frequency of high level contacts, noting that the visit of the US Congress delegation sends a strong signal to our society.

The delegation from the US House of Representatives was headed by Congressman Joe Wilson, Chair of the Readiness Subcommittee of the House Armed Services Committee; it included Congresswoman Madeleine Bordallo, Congressman Paul Cook, Congressman John Garamendi, and Congresswoman Jackie Walorski. From the Latvian side, the meeting was also attended by MPs Solvita Āboltiņa and Rihards Kols.


Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/saeima/albums/72157684444054503
Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bSn4ff0Eeo4
Disclaimer & copyrights: http://saeima.lv/en/copyrights


Saeima Press Service

Otrdien, 26.septembrī
08:30  Juridiskās komisijas Krimināltiesību politikas apakškomisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas un Nacionālās drošības komisijas kopsēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Nacionālās drošības komisijas un Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas kopsēde
11:40  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas Vides un klimata politikas apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Juridiskās komisijas Tiesu politikas apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
13:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Sabiedrības veselības apakškomisijas sēde
13:30  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas Korupcijas novēršanas apakškomisijas sēde
14:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Nodarbinātības apakškomisijas sēde
15:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde