Recipients of the Future Politician title of the 7th Youth Parliament announced


On Friday, 21 April, concluding the 7th Youth Parliament, the title of the Future Politician was awarded to Gints Jankovskis, Katrīne Lankrete, Elīna Smetaņina and Ieva Strupa. These young people were particularly active in sectoral committees and involved in discussions on draft declarations of the Youth Parliament.

This year's Youth Parliament focused on education, and young people were invited to submit ideas for improving formal and informal education in Latvia. Today, the 7th Youth Parliament adopted the declarations drafted by the four line committees on encouraging patriotism and statehood consciousness, promoting safety on the Internet, as well as raising the quality of education and broadening study opportunities.

The members of the Youth Parliament are elected by a public vote on the project's website Out of the 100 elected members, 93 young people gathered at the 7th Youth Parliament on 21 April, thus gaining first-hand experience in the daily work of the parliament – the law-making process in committees and plenary sessions.

The young MPs gave the oath of office before being granted their mandates. They formed sectoral committees that devised the final wording of four draft declarations. At their second plenary sitting, the participants deliberated on the draft declarations and voted on their adoption.

The Youth Parliament was presided by Speaker Ināra Mūrniece and the young people whose ideas submitted for the elections of the 7th Youth Parliament had gained the greatest support: Anete Biķe, Gints Jankovskis, Ervīns Boikovs and Elīna Smetaņina. 

The project is implemented by the Saeima. Publicity is provided by the social network, Latvian Television and Latvian Radio. Information about the Youth Parliament is also available on social media:,, and


Video: = Y0PtE3F - r0
Disclaimer & copyrights: saeima. lv/en/copyrights



Saeima Press Service

Otrdien, 26.septembrī
08:30  Juridiskās komisijas Krimināltiesību politikas apakškomisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas un Nacionālās drošības komisijas kopsēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Nacionālās drošības komisijas un Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas kopsēde
11:40  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas Vides un klimata politikas apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Juridiskās komisijas Tiesu politikas apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
13:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Sabiedrības veselības apakškomisijas sēde
13:30  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas Korupcijas novēršanas apakškomisijas sēde
14:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Nodarbinātības apakškomisijas sēde
15:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde